Mission Statement:

The officers of the Homer Police Department are dedicated professionals who are committed to working with the community to make the Village of Homer a safe and desirable place to live, work or visit. Our mission is to partner with the community to solve problems, improve public safety and reduce crime in a manner that is fair, impartial, transparent, and consistent with respect for human dignity according to the highest standards of professionalism, integrity and accountability.

We have an open door policy and welcome any community member to come in anytime with concerns or questions. The Police Department has an officer on duty 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Village residents requiring police assistance for an emergency should always call 9-1-1, but during the hours of 8am to 4pm Monday – Friday, you may call (607) 749-2022.

As of 2012, we have School Resource Officers (SRO’s) in our schools. We are working with the Homer School District to keep our schools safe.

The resulting report from the Village of Homer Police Survey can be found here:

Executive Order No. 203: New York State Police Reform and Reinvention Collaborative Plan: Final Report

Homer Police Department

Robert Pitman

Police Chief



  • Sergeant Michael Winchell
  • Sergeant Kevin Soderholm
  • Officer Charles Smiley
  • Officer Jordan Cowen
  • Officer Jacob Brewster
  • Officer Ashley Martin


Chief Assistant

Kandy Metzler



  • Robert Stockwin – High School
  • Steve Morgan – Jr High School
  • Quentin Giles – Elementary School
  • Dave VanOrden – Intermediate School
  • Mike Bort – Evenings & Events

Homer Town Justice Court

Honorable Randolph V. Kruman

E-Mail Address:


Mailing Address:

4 Water Street
Homer, NY 13077
Tel: (607) 749-2326
Fax: (607) 749-6459

Office Hours:

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday
11 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Court Hours:

Court is normally held on the first and third Tuesday of each month, at 5:00 PM. Court is not held on Holidays or on the fifth Tuesday of the month. Please use the side door for Court.

Count Clerk Office Hours:

Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday from 11:00 am – 2:00 pm.
The office is closed on legal holidays.