Founded in 1791 by Joseph and Rhoda Beebe and Mrs. Beebe's brother, Amos Todd, Homer was legally incorporated as a village in 1835. Homer’s age, and the evidence that remains of the contributions of previous generations give us roots … a sense of time and place … a feeling for our environment. The Village of Homer was entered in the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
We invite you to explore the rich history of Homer: • Read the colorful history Homer NY: A Town and its Hall. • Browse through the page of Homer’s Famous Residents to meet a few of Homer's outstanding historical figures. • Take a virtual tour of a sampling of the rich architectural heritage of Homer. • View a map of Homer's historic district. • Browse through a collection of historical postcards of Homer, NY. • Visit the Living History Center, filled with artifacts and treasures from the Civil War on through Desert Storm, as well as the entire collection of model trains and railroad memorabilia, previously displayed at the Homeville Museum.
Visit the Homer History Center
Key Bank Building, 25 South Main Street
Open Fridays 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Contact the Homer Village Office:
53 S. Main Street, Homer, NY 13077
Phone: (607) 749-3322
Contact the Homer Town Historian:
Phone: (607) 749-7120